top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica

Ipsy Unzipped - March 2018 - First Impression vs. Try-On!

Updated: Apr 4, 2018

Hello everyone!


Welcome to my blog. 💖


If you are new to subscription bags, Ipsy is a personalized monthly makeup and beauty sample subscription available in the States and Canada. Subscribers receive a makeup with 5 deluxe or full-size products for $10.00 a month for peeps who live in the States and $10.00 USD + $4.95 shipping for those of you in Canada. (Leave a 🙋 comment if you are from Canada!)


Let's get started! I love the theme of this month. "Create"


I love the idea of a black and white bag with a pink zipper, I think it's SO CUTE. I would even use this as a clutch. This month's bag also comes with two markers so you can color it in. I love the size of the bag, it's bigger than the one for February (I know I missed a blog post, but I was thoroughly disappointed with my glam bag. If you want to see a post about it, leave a comment below!)


As for the products this month...

NIP+FAB | Glycolic Scrub Fix

I actually picked this item to be included in my bag this month (I had a problem with my February bag so Ipsy offered to let me pick an item). I was excited for this but was slightly disappointed with the size. Although, can you blame me, 20ml is tiny!


VERDICT: 10/10 for this scrub. I am obsessed with the refreshing scent of grapefruit. I also like that it doesn't dry out my skin like the Tatcha one (I also wrote about it in a previous blog post, shameless self-promoting!) I prefer to use this scrub before a mask. I would repurchase this in a heartbeat. And for my Canadian readers out there, you can buy this at Shoppers Drug Mart!


VALUED AT: $2.65


EYEKO | Lash Alert Mascara in Carbon Black

I was disappointed when I saw this in my spoiler.. but that's only because I never use any mascaras. It irritates my eyes like crazy. So I can't comment on the quality of this, but I do like how it's infused with caffeine.


VALUED AT: $6.50

WINKY LUX | Powdered Lights in Charm

I felt neutral seeing this in my spoiler. I like highlighters and I do have it checked off in my profile but this particular shade looked too pearly for me.


VERDICT: 5/10, I think the highlighter swatches beautifully. It looks pearly when you first apply it but it has a cool-toned pink holographic finish. I found that it looked too pink on my skin, it just wasn't flattering... I will try this as an inner eye highlight though. I think that would be gorgeous!


VALUED AT: $18.00 USD (NOTE: $18.00 is the regular Price, I cannot find the weight of this product to calculate the Ipsy price)


HERMINERALS | Blending Sponge

I was disappointed seeing this only because I already own so many sponges, and I am more of a brush person now.


VERDICT: I have so many beauty sponges so I passed this along to a friend, so no verdict can be made here. I did read online that this sponge does not get bigger once you dampened it with water. It's actually quite small. It may be good to reach the smaller areas of the face, but probably not for foundation.


VALUED AT: $12.00


AHAVA | Purifying Mud Mask


VERICT: 10/10. I was SO excited to get this in my glam bag. I love mud masks (or any kinds of masks, really!). I personally love a quick mask, you leave this one on for two-minutes and rinse off with warm water. I saw a difference in my skin after one use. It made my skin so soft and looking brighter (I think I have the dullest skin ever). I hope Ipsy sends more products from Ahava!


SIDE NOTE: I would not recommend leaving this on for more than the recommended time of two minutes.


VALUED AT: $12.59


ROYAL & LANGNICKEL | Prismatic Ombre Fan Brush (I traded my sponge and mascara with my friend for this, so I wanted to mention it).


VERDICT: I wanted to love this as I was lacking a fan brush in my collection, but this was difficult to love (I do love the ombre colors and it reminds me of a mermaid). I found the bristles to be too soft. I used it with my Winky Lux highlighter (mentioned above), but I could not get any pigments onto the brush despite sweeping the brush back and forth a few times. I will try this with my Becca shimmering highlight though, I want to try it out with one of my staple products and maybe I'll have more luck.


VALUED AT: I couldn't find the individual brush on the website, but it is in a set along with two other brushes and a travel case for $19.99 USD).


That is everything I got in my glam bag. What did you get?


Until next time...

16 views0 comments
bottom of page